Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is responsible for Carequality’s strategic direction, and for the development and oversight of the Carequality interoperability framework.

The Steering Committee specifically has responsibility for:

  • Governing the work of Carequality to assure that the work group and Advisory Council activities are conducted in a manner consistent with Carequality’s vision and principles.
  • Manage the work of Carequality to maximize efficiency and effectiveness within an annual Carequality budget.
  • Establishing work groups and corresponding work group charters that define the work group composition, scope, deliverables and timeframes for completing its work.
  • Evaluating, prioritizing and adopting new use cases.
  • Seeking input and recommendations from the Carequality Advisory Council and other stakeholders, to assure broad stakeholder input.
  • Maintaining a definitive list of use cases and other deliverables, to assure clear versioning of such work, developed and maintained by Carequality.
  • Coordinating with standards development organizations, policy-related endeavors and other federal and industry initiatives to help align the standards and specifications employed by the Carequality with other like efforts.
  • Overseeing other centralized functions supported for Carequality.
  • Overseeing a process, as needed, to address questions or disputes regarding any Carequality deliverable.
  • Evaluating ongoing program effectiveness on a periodic basis and implement process improvements over time.

For more detailed information, please refer to the Carequality Governance Charter and the Carequality Steering Committee OPP.

The following individuals are members of the Steering Committee:

Member NameOrganizationStakeholder Group Represented
Melissa AyresSSAFederal Agency
Nancy BeavinHumanaPayer
Matt BeckerKno2Networks
John Blair, III, MDMedAlliesNetworks
Jennifer BlumenthalOneRecordConsumer-facing tech
Ryan BrambleCRISPHIE organization
Hans BuitendijkCerner Corporation (Oracle subsidiary)Vendor
Greg CareyathenahealthVendor
Ryan HowellsCARIN AllianceConsumer
Lucy JohnsHealth Care Planning & PolicyConsumer
Rob KlootwykEpicVendor
Steven Lane, MDHealth GorillaVendor
Roshan Mathew, MDAdvanced Cardiology of OwensboroHealthcare Provider Org
Jay NakashimaeHealth ExchangeNetworks
Lukasz NosolUnitedHealth GroupPayer
Vicky Parikh, MDMedstar Shah Medical GroupHealthcare Provider Org
Matt ReidAMAPhysicians
Paul WilderCommonWell Health AllianceNetworks